“Adults have rather fragile egos”

Objective:
The statement “adults have rather fragile egos” (The Art of Evaluation pg. 19) is open to interpretation. As Fenwick states “children are extremely vulnerable to criticism” also
(The Art of Evaluation pg.19).

Children deal with their egos differently than adults as they are dependent on others, therefore lack control in their life. Whereas adults have control of their life, they tend to take less risks than children in fear their ego and self-esteem being compromised. Adults often reflect on previous negative experiences regarding evaluations. They may also have outside interferences that prevents them from taking risks (30 Things We Know For Sure About Adult Learning). An evaluation is deemed a judgment of the adult’s competency and adults do not like to be judged. Whereas children are dependent on adults and evaluations are supported by adults as part of the educational process.

Reflective:
The bigger question to consider is, do all “adults have rather fragile egos” (The Art of Evaluation pg. 19). Upon reflecting on this statement I believe that this statement is open to interpretation. Adults have individualized coping methods for dealing with self-concept and self-esteem.

I recall back to my childhood where evaluations were an essential part of school. I don’t remember being stressed about taking the exams but do recall setting expectations to achieve a good grade. I entered into nursing school at age seventeen and do not recall being stressed about the evaluations or methods of evaluations. As a mature adult engaging in lifelong learning I become more stressed about the evaluation progress. Reflecting on this I believe that at times it is due to the expectation of my employer who is mandating compulsory education. This creates an external factor, as if I was unsuccessful my employment would be jeopardized.

Interpretive:
Adults often do not choose to engage in adult learning. It is often due to lifestyle change, working conditions, or social status.

There is a variety of methods to assess the learner’s level of competency. As an educator you do not have to use the traditional evaluation methods of quizzes and exams. In the program that I teach I must use the criterion referenced evaluation and utilize the formative process. I take into consideration the different learning styles of adults in preparing the evaluations and the method of evaluation.

As an adult educator I need to be non-judgmental, treat the learner as an equal, and be an effective facilitator. I need to ensure that I allow time for the learner to review and reflect on the evaluation.

Decisional:
Upon reflection on this statement I will continue to utilize multiple evaluation methods in my courses. Examples of evaluation methods that I use in the classroom are quizzes, final exam, case studies, weekly assignments, individual assignments, and group projects. The rationale for using multiple evaluation methods is to prevent having heavily weighted exams which will assist in reducing anxiety of the
learners. The learner will have the ability to engage in self-reflection on their progress throughout the course. It allows me as the Instructor to evaluate if my delivering methods are effective. I will
ensure “the evaluation methods are valid and reliable” (The Art of Evaluation pg. 19).

In the past I have found that the learners are less anxious if they know the format and the length of the evaluation. I provide this information to my learners on the class prior to the evaluation to assist with reducing their exam anxiety.

In teaching the Practical Nursing Program the learner must be evaluated on the baseline competencies as set out by the College of Licensed Practical Nurses of British Columbia. Therefore I must evaluate the learner on these required competencies. I do have the opportunity to vary the evaluation methods and the frequency of the evaluations.

References:
Fenwick, Tara, J., Parsons, Jim, (2009) The Art of Evaluation A Resource for Educators
and Trainers, Second Edition

Knowles, Malcolm, S., The Modern Practice Of Adult Education From Pedagogy to Andragogy, Retrieved from the World Wide Web on May 11, 2013, http://www.docjax.com/Search/index.shtml
q=The+Modern+Practice+of+Adult+Education

Zemke, Ron, Zemke, Susan, 30 Things We Know for Sure About Adult Learning, Retrieved from the World Wide Web on May 5, 2013, http://www2.honolulu.hawaii.edu/facdev/guidebk/teachtip/m-files/m-adult3.htm

This entry was posted in 3230 Journal Entries. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

